The boys and I went to a movie on Friday. And it was so efficient!! And I kept thinking, “if AMC theatres can do it, why can’t Carefirst Blue Cross Blue Shield?”

Our “appointment” with “Wreck-It Ralph” was arranged electronically. In a very harried 15 minutes on my computer at home, I activate our frequent movie viewer card (we don’t see all that many) and purchased our tickets online. The frequent viewer card allowed me to waive the processing fee. It also allowed me to show up at the Swamp Fox 22, bypass the day-after-Thanksgiving lines, swipe my card at a kiosk to generate tickets, and proceed to the snack area where I received YET ANOTHER privilege in reduced prices. And then I enjoyed a movie on top of it all.

So my proposition is this: Carefirst knows everything about me; I even have a Carefirst debit card that can retrieve my high-deductible info in micro seconds.

Explain to me why Carefirst and my health care providers require me to repeatedly explain myself and my health care information to them? Why can’t it all be on my card (since most of it is already)? Just think: one swipe, and your medical history, benefits info, and payment summary could be transferred.

You’d receive efficient, appropriate care, and still have time for a movie.

