Funny thing about acronyms. The pop up everywhere. And they might not exactly mean what you’d hope.

A google search of my kind of SCAD, spontaneous coronary artery dissection, can be a bit, well … disheartening.

Top of the board is “Savannah College of Art and Design.” Over and over again. It would appear this academic institution is taking over the world of fine arts and fashion. It has a television station. And a radio station. With campuses in Savannah, Atlanta, and Hong Kong, perhaps some day it will rule supreme.

Another contender for the world’s attention is “short-chain acyl-CoA dehydrogenase (SCAD) deficiency.” I’m not sure I even want to know what that is. Could be worse than spontaneous coronary artery dissection!

I’m wondering how many people are searching for this SCAD: Society for Color and Appearance in Dentistry. Maybe a lot. Lord knows my teeth could use a bit of bleaching to compete with today’s Chiclets trend.

Found these two new SCADs today: The Smith Country Appraisal District in Texas, and the Social Conflict in Africa Database, which is a tragic compilation of violence and social protest.

Most surprising to me, though, is that my diagnosis could even be misinterpreted as a fish, specifically “any carangid fish of the genus Decapterus, inhabiting tropical and subtropical shore waters.”

How to compete, I ask you?

Thank heavens Mayo Clinic is behind us now!

